Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Would you rather live in Oxford or live in Portsmouth for uni and why? Watch

ReputationRep:
    As above! :-) Mature student, private renting with partner.
    • Section Leader
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    To attend Oxford Brookes or Portsmouth University respectively?

Do you have offers for both...?

Have you visited both? Have you compared the courses?

What others may like/dislike may not be the same for you and your partner.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jneill)
    To attend Oxford Brookes or Portsmouth University respectively?

Do you have offers for both...?

Have you visited both? Have you compared the courses?

What others may like/dislike may not be the same for you and your partner.

I have confirmed places for both. I'm a mature student, I did my A Levels years ago. I've visited both places. Courses have different strengths and weaknesses but are on par.

I'm trying to gain some general perspective, as I really can't decide. They're even close on the league tables.
    • Section Leader
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hellsyeahhhhh)
    I have confirmed places for both. I'm a mature student, I did my A Levels years ago. I've visited both places. Courses have different strengths and weaknesses but are on par.

I'm trying to gain some general perspective, as I really can't decide. They're even close on the league tables.
    Well it's dreaming spires vs a naval port...

Oh, and Oxford is relatively expensive.

https://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-livin...ty2=Portsmouth

ReputationRep:
    Not sure how it works for mature students but have you checked if you get any additional money from any of the unis? Not being bias but for my situation I would get an extra 4.5k over my 3 years at brookes so it's probably worth checking, just thought i should add since cost of living in oxford was mentioned

ReputationRep: