Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently in 4th year and having spend most of my University life not really bothered about intercalating, I then saw one for Emergency Medicine (which i have a great interest in). I am now very torn on what to do due to a few reasons and it's making me a bit anxious.

Does intercalating have a big impact on your future career? particularly if you want to do acute medicine? I'm still not 100% sure what exactly I want to do in the end but I did enjoy my A&E placement.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Medstudent2013)
    I'm currently in 4th year and having spend most of my University life not really bothered about intercalating, I then saw one for Emergency Medicine (which i have a great interest in). I am now very torn on what to do due to a few reasons and it's making me a bit anxious.

Does intercalating have a big impact on your future career? particularly if you want to do acute medicine? I'm still not 100% sure what exactly I want to do in the end but I did enjoy my A&E placement.
    1) Interest is one of the best indications that an iBSc is for you.

2) Depends on what you do, how well you do, what you want to do and where you want to do it. I'm sorry that's not more helpful, however, there are a great deal of variables. In short, no. It can be helpful, but, is in no way a requirement.

3) For almost every sub-speciality of acute medicine they will take your arm off just for your interest. It is a speciality, as i'm sure you know, that isn't going anywhere and is heavily understaffed.

In general, some things to consider:

- Is there something you are interested in?
    - Are you alright with being in the cohort below?
    - Are you alright with losing a year? (in the grand scheme of things a year mean very little, however, seeing your friends with jobs and lives (this is very variable) is depressing)