The Student Room Group

NO clue what to do at uni

Helloooo,

I am currently a year 12 student studying biology, chemistry and economics, and I have absolutely no clue what I want to do at uni. When I started college I wasn't even sure what A-levels I wanted to do, I changed about a million times and even now I'm not really happy with them, but that's only because I'm struggling with the workload which is my own personal problem, and because my college is 3 bus rides away from me which wears me thin every day! But the other day I was talking to my friend about how tough college has been and we were having a really funny conversation laughing about failing until I was like, 'I don't even know what I wanna do at uni hahaha!!' and my friend was like wow that's pretty bad like even I know what I want to do, which kinda shocked me because I really do wanna go to university, but I don't know what exactly I want to do. I don't really think about university, which may be part of my problem, but that's because I didn't get perfect GCSE's and I'm worried that wont even get me in. I want something that'll get me a good job if I'm honest because at the end of the day that's what I really want. I did want to do like forensics but people have told me that its a dumb course that won't even get me a job anywhere which put me off. (This another reason why I don't know what I want to do, because whenever I have a sort of idea, people always tell me that I won't get a good job from it...)
You don't have to go to uni straight after college. There's nothing to stop you working for a few years and getting a better idea of what you want to do.

Don't go to uni because you feel you have to.
Reply 2
Original post by Tiger Rag
You don't have to go to uni straight after college. There's nothing to stop you working for a few years and getting a better idea of what you want to do.

Don't go to uni because you feel you have to.