Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey

I'm thinking of doing the ALS course - I'm in final year now, and unfortunately uni has just stopped offering it to final year students. Wondering if its worth trying to get onto one before I start work?

Has anyone been on the course as a student and is it worth doing now?

xx

ReputationRep:
    To be honest, not really. You'll be paying for it out of your own pocket, and it's not a cheap course.

I would wait until your FY1 year when your trust will fund it.

ReputationRep:
    I agree - wait until you're an FY1 when it will be funded (it's >£400 otherwise). Also, the earlier you do it, the earlier you'll have to re-do it (every 4 years). Doing it later in 5th year = redoing it later in CT2, when you're likely going to be stressing about a whole bunch of other things like ARCP, exams...

ReputationRep:
    I agree with the others. The earlier you attend these courses the earlier you will have to complete them again. You could ask your first trust whether or not they provide/fund ALS for their FY1 doctors as most do this routinely. You will probably also get more out of it (and pay more attention) once you've spent some time panicking at the bedside of a sick patient...

I would definitely make sure you are happy with BLS before you start working but that's enough for the time being - someone a little more senior should be along soon to start giving drugs...

ReputationRep:
    ALS done as a medical student is very beneficial for your first few months of F1. Don't underestimate the MCQs (which are required to pass ALS btw). I know a few people who failed ALS first time round by not reading the ALS workbook in enough depth.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by *Dreamer*)
    Hey