Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm only a first year medical student and I have no plans (currently) to go into neurosurgery, however some of my peers at medical school have already expressed an interest in neurosurgery and I overheard a conversation between one of them and an anatomy demonstrator who mentioned that they should be "starting now" with regards to getting their foot on the ladder in a neurosurgical career. I'm curious, what actually is there that you can do at this stage to further your career? Surely they're not expecting first years to be publishing papers?

ReputationRep:
    It's not impossible to publish a paper as a first year. Theoretically everything you can do to improve your chances is good but bear in mind: 1) have a life 2) criteria for selection to various jobs change (granted you will likely always be helped by a few publications)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Whizbox)
    Surely they're not expecting first years to be publishing papers?
    Why not? Publishing is much more about luck than seniority. And if you maximise your time you maximise your luck, not to mention the all important 'contacts' (eugh).

I never looked into neurosurgery at all, but we were told at our careers fair in 5th (out of 6) year that every single applicant to neurosurgery ST1 that year to that hospital had had at least two first author publications specifically in neurosurgery. We were told that if you didn't have research already underway by now there was no hope for you. Bear in mind this was before anyone in the room had even done a neurosurgery placement - that was one of the ones we would be doing that year.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Whizbox)