Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This question is aimed at doctors or anyone in the later years of medical school.

I just wanted to know how fast you feel med school goes. I'm in my first year and can't wait to finish mainly because I don't like my uni and want to come home all the time but at the same time it is nice not have the responsibility of having to go to work everyday and it's going to be very scary to be a junior doctor... People with normal degrees tend to say the 3 years go fast but for medics what is it like? Did you find uni went fast or did it drag endlessly?

ReputationRep:
    I think it was variable - there were parts that seem to drag, and parts that went by quickly. I spent 6 1/2 years at med school and overall it seemed to go by pretty quickly. I think clinical years were particularly fast, perhaps because the placements / travelling / hours were quite intense. personally I didn't enjoy preclinical years so much and it seemed to take quite a long time to get them out of the way.

I'm sorry you don't like your uni. It can be hard when you feel like you've got most of your time ahead of you still. Whilst yes it can feel nice not to have the responsibility of going to work each day (and I totally get that you're trying to find positives in your situation), realistically in clinical years this *is* what is expected - you won't have specific responsibility for patients, but you'll be expected to attend generally full time hours in hospital.

What's making uni feel so hard for you? The town, the people, the fact that it's not home, the course style? No matter how much you can hope that it'll go by quickly, it is still 5 years of your life and it would be a shame to be miserable for all of it, and I would really hope that there would be some things that people could do to make the time a bit better for you. Have you spoken to your tutors about it?

ReputationRep: