Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

Before I start with the requests I will give you a bit of a background on myself.

I am 35 years old and currently teach BTEC Sport at an FE college in the North of Yorkshire. I have a degree in Sports Coaching and PE as well as numerous sporting qualifications to compliment this. I have recently applied to Atkins for one of their entry level apprenticeships at my local office...unfortunately I have been told that they feel I would be better suited to a higher/degree apprenticeship programme instead, but they have none to offer in the area at present.

What I am wanting to ask is if there is anybody out there who has had a similar experience in retraining as an engineer and what they feel would be the best approach.

I am currently thinking their are two avenues to look into; wait for an appropriate position to come up in my area offering the degree apprenticeship (however I do not have any formal A level qualifications as I completed my degree as a mature student) or enrol on a part time engineering degree and hope in 6 years when I qualify that there is a demand for a 41 year old engineer just starting out on their career.

I feel that if I attain an engineering degree independently it will be harder to gain employment compared to being employed while developing the skills and knowledge.

Thank you in advance for any help you are able to give.
    • Community Assistant
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    A-levels in Mathematics, Physics, and maybe one other science subject are a route.

An apprenticeship in Engineering is also one.

Another option is an Engineering degree with a foundation year.

There are also foundation degrees in Engineering, I think.

Alternatively, you could try an Access to HE course and focus on modules relevant to Engineering, then pursue a regular Engineering degree.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Michiyo)