Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am applying to study History next year. I particularly enjoy contemporary, political history but I'm also looking for a uni which has a good social side to it and is quite sporty. At alevel I achieved A* A A. Currently thinking I will apply to Exeter, Sheffield and Bristol but I am not entirely sure where else. Any advice or thoughts on those universities or other universities would be very helpful. Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Hey!
    I'm a year 13 student whose predicted A*AA at A-Level and just got an offer to study History at Bristol and at SOAS which I'm really pleased about.

Obviously I haven't experienced student life at either of the universities but Bristol is a fantastic city which for some reason seems to be the epicentre for anything interesting that happens recently. It's the base for several of the music festivals I go to and it's also got a great music scene and lots of vintage stores which is part of my reason for applying. I've only been on one night out in Bristol which was to see The Brian Jonestown Massacre at the Bierkeller after a university open day but the atmosphere was fantastic and the people were great. I'm thinking I'll put Bristol as my first choice because they're a Russel Group University and the range of topics people wrote their History dissertations on their was fantastic!