Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Okay, so I'm in my second year of university facing having to go back tomorrow after the Christmas holidays and quite frankly, as always, I'm in tears over it and have been since I woke up this morning. It's now midday.

I've been this way since I started to be honest, the worst I've been is when I had to start again in September after the summer - I pretty much sobbed over that, begging my parents not to take me back.

I have no clue as to what to do about it and why I'm feeling this way - I have friends who I live with there, I enjoy my course for the most part and am doing something I enjoy, I go and see relatives nearby every other weekend...but it's just the living away from home. I really cannot shake it and it's making me feel awful.
    I spend my days there counting down until I next see my family, I Skype them quite often, most days if I can. I would go home more often if I didn't live a seven hour train journey away...

If it's relevant: I have anxiety, and had therapy and counselling for awhile before I started university - I wonder if maybe that's a contributing factor to how I feel. I also tend to feel rather lonely in university despite having friends there. I have a very close-knit family unit back at home, along with a friend unit I've had since primary school or early high school - my family and friends at home are my rock and I don't feel that I have that at university. I know it's impossible to forge those sorts of friendships there in such a short space of time, so I'm really unsure of how to tackle that.