Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How do I prove that I can use computers? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I've noticed a gap in my CV - I have no evidence that I can use ICT / Computers to a good standard. My school did not offer GCSE Computer Science / ICT and I didn't do anything computer-related at A Level. My degree is in BSc (Hons) Biomedical Science so very little computer related use there...

How can I prove my aptitude with computers to an employer through a CV?
    • Very Important Poster
    • Welcome Squad

ReputationRep:
    You're using one right now? :holmes:

Surely you have used Excel, Word or Powerpoint at one point?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by UWS)
    You're using one right now? :holmes:

Surely you have used Excel, Word or Powerpoint at one point?
    Hahaha yes of course It's just, I don't have any quantitative evidence of the fact that I can use those things. I just worry that an employer will look at it and say "Well.. where's your proof?" like I can with my GCSE / A Level / Degree grades. All I've really written in my CV is this:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AshEntropy)
    Hi all, I've noticed a gap in my CV - I have no evidence that I can use ICT / Computers to a good standard. My school did not offer GCSE Computer Science / ICT and I didn't do anything computer-related at A Level. How can I prove my aptitude with computers to an employer through a CV?
    You can mention the programming language you are fluent/confident in (if you know any programming), or even the fact that you know ho to use Excel and other useful softwares.

ReputationRep:
    You can talk you continue building upon skills, one of them being in ICT etc.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kkboyk)
    You can mention the programming language you are fluent/confident in (if you know any programming), or even the fact that you know ho to use Excel and other useful softwares.