The Student Room Group

Finding it hard to fit in at University?

Just wanted to know if anyone had any advice, or had been through something similar.

I go to a prestigious University, and I'm pretty certain I was quite lucky to get in (grades weren't incredible, came from a poor state school, parents on low incomes and no higher education etc etc so would've got lenience and I'm sure ticked some boxes).

This university is filled with students that have a very high opinion of themselves, if that makes sense? The word elitist comes to mind. I'll start with an example. I study Computer Science, and an "IDE" is basically a program that makes it easier to write/ test out our own code (removes the manual aspect). At least 4 times now, someone has noticed that I use this certain IDE. They always ask why, and I say "Well our lecturer uses it so I thought it would be easier to use a program I see someone else using" as I'm completely new to programming. They always shake their head at me, roll their eyes or even say something quite rude, and proceed to "suggesting" (although it never sounds like a friendly "I would recommend...":wink: which one I should use. And it's all based on preference, they're all very similar once you're used to it.

Hopefully this example helps you understand what I mean, and things like this happen constantly. The professors/ "experts" do it too sometimes.

I'm also yet to find anyone that I get along with, everyone else wants to compete to be the best. And because of the way it's set up, and the workload, it's very hard to speak to anyone outside a specific group of 4 of us. So I find myself preferring to be alone.