Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello everyone,

Last Summer I graduated with a good degree in History from Sheffield and I am now doing the notorious law conversion course.

Many of my classmates went to the very best institutions in the country, ie UCL, King's, Oxbridge etc, and so I have become anxious about my own prospects knowing that I will be competing with these people for jobs.

Will a degree from Sheffield be given consideration against one from (for example) Bristol or St. Andrews?

How important is university prestige when applying for City graduate schemes and law training contracts?

I must add, I performed very well at A-Level and turned down an offer from Warwick in favour of going to Sheffield - have a shot myself in the foot?

As you can see I have been thinking deeply about this issue and it would be great to finally put my concerns to bed. Also, if I am fabricating problems out of nothing, please feel free to tell me to shut up and stop worrying (I have a tendency to worry about stupid things!)
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mr.Student94)
    Hello everyone,

Last Summer I graduated with a good degree in History from Sheffield and I am now doing the notorious law conversion course.

Many of my classmates went to the very best institutions in the country, ie UCL, King's, Oxbridge etc, and so I have become anxious about my own prospects knowing that I will be competing with these people for jobs.

Will a degree from Sheffield be given consideration against one from (for example) Bristol or St. Andrews?

How important is university prestige when applying for City graduate schemes and law training contracts?

I must add, I performed very well at A-Level and turned down an offer from Warwick in favour of going to Sheffield - have a shot myself in the foot?