Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm an MA history student at a top ten Russell Group university. I graduated with a First and top of my year. However, the MA is proving physically and mentally exhausting. I find myself continually crying, overwhelmed by the sheer volume and intensity of work-ahead of me.

To contextualise, my university changed the structure of the MA course for 2016/17, yet failed to update its assessment criteria until after we had already accepted our places. They dramatically changed the requirements of the degree and changed the goal posts from writing 6000 words each term, to 12,000, on top of our thesis. None of this was explained before we began, and module pages were still being updated a week before our arrival.

With great difficulty, and a lot of tears, I was able to complete my term one courses. I receive the results on Thursday and I truly believe this will be a deal breaker as to where or not I continue. Of course I want to get an MA, but at this moment, the prospect of repeating everything I've already done AND more is simply overwhelming. Towards the end of last term I was struggling to complete simple tasks like shower or eat. Having enjoyed a restful Christmas period followed by many tears before my return to uni, I feel like I may slip back into these bad habits.

I dont want to leave; I have a boyfriend of three years here and I am holding down two jobs I love. However, I am so done with academia and it's affect on my mental health. I have incredibly supportive parents and friends, I am only putting pressure on myself.