Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Am I just too thick and a loser to even try GEM (graduate entry medicine) ?? Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying a bsc with hons in adult nursing and was thinking if it's possible to enter a GEM course after I graduate in 3 years. I did gcses but my grades were terrible basically most highest grades were Cs. I did a levels for a bit and managed to get one A level grade C in film studies.. i then did a BTEC in health and social care and got a DDM (distinction, distinction, merit) grade. I'll do my best and if needs be I'll retake. Im just thinking whether or not I'm a loser and there's no point in thinking ahead because I won't even enter or do you think there's a possibility?

ReputationRep:
    There's a lot of GEM courses which don't consider any qualifications outside of your degree. So it doesn't matter what your GCSEs or A-levels are when applying to those universities. Nursing is a good place to start for GEM as you will have got a fantastic head start on the work experience front and knowing the role of Doctors.

GEM is absolutely a possibility for you

ReputationRep:
    I have had a number of students who have done medicine as GEM students after doing pharmacy: My view would be:-

1. From what I have seen first hand both as a medical student of the training in nursing (albeit a few years go), AND subsequently, as a pharmacology student, of the training in pharmacy: