Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Grow My Grades 2017!

11thJanuary 2017

I'm a newby to this, and not the best at studying. However this year I want to do well on my upcoming GCSEs so I am going to commit myself to study, to do my homework better and to procrastinate less. (It will be tough, of that I am sure!)

My motivation, would be various things. One being the fact that with effort and hard work I know I can do well, which is something I proved to myself when I studied hard for my Additional Science mocks. I am also inspired by my mother, who regularly enforces that you can do well when you work for it, "but don't overwork yourself!".

I am more or less at the upper end of the spectrum (top sets, higher papers etc) however in no way am I a genius, perhaps fairly smart but I do have to work hard to do well.

Subjects I am studying, exam board, level and target (not predicted) grades:
    [I am doing the new Maths and English GCSE - so 9-1 for those but ordinary grading for the rest.]

• Maths - Edexcel - higher - 7/8
    • English- AQA - higher - 7/8
    • Science - Edexcel - higher - Core, Additional, Extension - A/A*
    • French - Edexcel - higher - A
    • Computing - OCR - A
    • History**- Edexcel - A
    • Art - (unsure on board) - A*

** History AQA units I am doing:
    - Unit 1 - Era of the Cold War 1943–1991
    - Unit 2 - 2C The USA 1919-41
    - Unit 3 - 3B: War and the transformation of British society 1931–51

I have recently done my mock exams, and I will say that I did put effort in especially into Science (my classes Science mocks were held about 3 weeks before the rest of my mocks). I do know that I didn't put as much as I could in, and aside from science, was fairly disappointed with my results because I know that I could do better. For example, while studying for History I ignored French and English which needed some real practise and effort.

Going forwards how will I improve?