Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I'm a Canadian student, and I'm debating between St. Andrews and Edinburgh for a semester-long student exchange. I had been set on Edinburgh for a while, but looked into St. Andrews in case, and found out that I really liked a lot of what was being offered. I'm a history student. I need help deciding which university is better, so I'd appreciate any help or advice! Please note that grades nor cost of tuition is a concern because I only pay my basic fees to my home university.

1) Is on-campus accommodation at St. Andrews filled primarily with first-year students? I'll be 21/22 while on exchange and I don't want to be the oldest one there.

2) The university seems very sports-based and I'm not into any sports whatsoever. Will that be a problem?

3) I'm not massively into partying either, though I do enjoy it sometimes. Are there still things for me to do in terms of a nightlife?

4) Is the university as pretentious as the stereotype makes it out to be?

5) How long would it take to get to the airport in Edinburgh from St. Andrews if you're taking a bus/train? I want to travel to other places in Europe on the weekends.

Thank you so much in advance!

ReputationRep:
    I spent a semester as an exchange student in St Andrews myself, and loved it so much that I came back for a full postgraduate degree. So I would personally recommend St Andrews, but it depends on which university offers a stronger degree and courses you like better, whether you prefer living in a city over living in a very small town, etc. I've looked into studying in Edinburgh as well and the university made a positive impression on me, but when I got my offer from St Andrews the choice was still very easy for me after the great semester I'd had here.

As for your questions: