Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm in a split between the two. Anybody with experiences of either subject let me know what it entails and what it's like??

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by whoisme)
    I'm in a split between the two. Anybody with experiences of either subject let me know what it entails and what it's like??
    Hey! I do both. I studied sociology for GCSE and I'm really really interested in politics.

Sociology does have many political and social aspects in it, for each topic we look at how class, gender, age and ethnicity, sometimes region, affect areas of our lives (for example, our health, our education, what our family is like etc)
    It is really interesting and is often classed as easier than politics but I guess it depends on your teachers (I have the same teacher for both subjects). In sociology there is a lot of learning about different sociological theorists and how to apply these to your answers in exams, which is great if you're good at remembering stuff.
    I find sociology really interesting and pretty easy, but I did it for GCSE so I may be biased (there's a lot of overlap) however you aren't at any disadvantage if you did do it for GCSE, most schools don't offer it.

Politics I love so will probably be a little biased. I'm in year 12 so haven't covered loads of the material yet (Also I do AS/A2 politics in the old system, it's probably changed for you), but it is interesting.
    A lot of the 1st year of politics is about the machinery of it all, how it works. So that includes electoral systems, how people vote, pressure groups, ideologies and party politics. Even if you aren't necessarily interested in politics now, you may later find it really is, I know a lot of people in my class took it as they didn't really know what else to take and are now really enjoying it.