Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Bristol or Edinburgh for 6 month placement? Watch

ReputationRep:
    So I'm a 2nd year uni student from Ireland and I am required to undertake a 6 month placement (June to December) as part of the course. I definitely want to do my placment in the UK and I am looking at two possible options in either Bristol or Edinburgh. While both seem equally good, I'm wondering which city would be better in terms of:

- price (which would be cheaper?)
    - being easy to get around
    - safety (from what I gather both are quite safe and I know every area will have their bad bits but I'd like to get opinions all the same)

_ student population
    _ nightlife
    _ taxi service

Being a student myself, I would like if possibe to share with other students and I wouldn't like to live on my own so any tips for house sharing would be greatly appreciated.

I'd love to hear people's opinions/advice on either city (or both if you've been to each!). As the placement is for 6 months I really want to make sure I've made the right choice so I would love any info at all. Thanks

(Just to add, I'm studying event management and PR)

ReputationRep:
    I've never been to Edinburgh but I lived in Bristol for three years when I did my undergrad

It's a lovely place, my favourite city in England by far. It's the second most expensive city in the UK after London but I don't know how that would compare with Dublin. Public transport is good, I think. First is a generally good service, it's just the buses that served my uni (UWE) were always packed and late. Temple Meads station is really easy to get to, just a short 10 minute walk from the city centre and the line serves loads of different areas of the UK.