Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Basically, I am currently in my second year of a BEng in electrical engineering at a brick university and I have my sights on studying an MSc in Theoretical Physics afterwards. Now, obviously my engineering background isn't going to adequately prepare me for this, so I am considering the option of transferring the credits that I will have, at the end of this academic year (240 credits), to an open degree, whereby I hope to study the modules; The quantum world, the relativistic universe, electromagnetism and complex analysis. To finish off my degree.

So what I would like to know is.

Would the open university allow me to study level 3 science/mathematics modules with them, without having completed any prior study with them, I know that I am capable of completing study at that level, given that I already own most of the materials for the above courses and have been self teaching.

Also, does anybody have experience in applying for postgraduate degrees with an open degree? I would assume that they would be more interested in the modules studied, as opposed to the name, would this assumption be correct?
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Yes, the OU will let you - but I'm not sure this is such a good idea. A named degree is always better than an Open degree, and there must be physics conversion courses you can do instead?

I suggest you email postgrad admission tutors before you do anything, you never know, they might accept an engineering degree.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Snufkin)
    x
    Hey, sorry to hijack this but I've noticed you're an OU student or have been, can I just ask how long student finance England took to process if it was England? Ty!
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by augustvv)