Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm successful but depressed, sad and lonely inside Watch

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    Anyone?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Pulsecube)
    I'm a gay, male nurse in my early twenties. I got a first in my degree, have three A* grades at A-level in good subjects, and work in one of the busiest hospital departments in the country. I love my job; I work extra shifts a lot to distract myself from not having much of a personal life, and to distract me from my depression, which I take medication for, for the last four years.

I'm always upbeat at work; people know me as chatty, friendly and a hard-worker. I'm outgoing and confident in all aspects of my life; I'm always up for anything new and like to have fun. My mental pain is immense. I'm overworked (partly through choice), I have a lot of personal issues and I'm lonely. I see and deal with immense physical and emotional pain from patients every time I'm at work; I see the very best and the very worst of humanity all the time.

When I'm at home I can't stand to be on my own. I have a few friends but I don't do much with them outside of work because they're not that sort of people. I feel like giving my best at work is never good enough and that I've let myself, my colleagues and my patients down. I feel worthless, stupid and like nothing. I feel lonely, inferior and just sad. I cry when I'm on my own, I book more shifts than I should so I'm around people and have things to do. I give my absolute best to this job and it always feels like it's not good enough, which makes me feel like a failure, that nobody wants me, that nobody will ever want to be with me, even though I'm outgoing and decent-looking, with a professional job, earn 30k and have a caring heart. I don't know what to do.
    your friends dont like to go out and have fun?....lol mate, I think you need new friends then