Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have an interview for a phd program in a couple of weeks, and am struggling with a presentation I have to give on my research as part of the interview. They apparently want to see that you can present your scientific research concisely, but I think they're going a bit far...

The instructions are that it is 3 minutes (!) and you can only have 3 power-point slides consisting of an introduction, results and a summary.

But I'm not sure what they mean by a summary? In the given time the introduction and results can be little more than a summary anyway, so...:dontknow: Or do they maybe mean like conclusions?

Any help? Tips for how to give a good presentation in 3 measely minutes are also welcome.

ReputationRep:
    I did a 5 minute presentation on my masters dissertation for my PhD so it is possible to give a short and sweet one (though I think the 3 slide rule is a little silly in my opinion).

By summary I assume they mean a summary of your conclusions. Really focus on one aspect of your research such as one particularly interesting result. If they question the scope of the research then you can talk about some other points after politely pointing out you focussed on one aspect due to the time / slide constraints. If you just list a bunch of findings it will be boring and confusing.

In my presentation I focussed on the motivation behind my project as my methods were relatively novel and I left out the actual results (in your case, I wouldn't do that as they explicitly ask for them I'm just saying focussing on one aspect is effective). I also tailored it to my audience. My project was on ecological statistics and I was moving into psychological statistics so I kept everything pretty basic as I wasn't talking to people with in-depth knowledge of my research area.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by monkyvirus)