Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Do you have to be extremely smart? Is it very competitive? If i graduated with a law degree from a good university would i find it really difficult to find a job?

If it helps my a levels are philosophy, history and government and politics.I am thinking of changing G&P to economics, would this make a difference?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LJones191)
    Do you have to be extremely smart? Is it very competitive? If i graduated with a law degree from a good university would i find it really difficult to find a job?

If it helps my a levels are philosophy, history and government and politics.I am thinking of changing G&P to economics, would this make a difference?
    Getting a degree (and LPC) is pretty easy. Training contracts = kinda competitive but you don't have to be a genius, it's not extremely difficult to get one.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:

Not any more difficult than a lot of other professional careers. In fact it will be harder to get into certain other careers.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    To be fair, as careers go it's a pretty tough one to crack. Lots of competition out there, far more law graduates than training contracts.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by M1011)
    To be fair, as careers go it's a pretty tough one to crack. Lots of competition out there, far more law graduates than training contracts.
    :ditto:
    Very true, but that's the same with all (graduate) careers to be honest.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Boreism)
    :ditto:
    Very true, but that's the same with all (graduate) careers to be honest.
    Good point - no grad job is easy.

However there's 20k law graduates per year. I don't know how many training contracts there are, but it can't be anywhere remotely close to that number.