Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should I do GCSE Latin? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I want to do Latin ish but i just want to know how much work you need to put in, in year 10 and 11 and what the test is actually like?

ReputationRep:
    We only had one year to do GCSE Latin. I think one year was too short. It wasn't too bad. There are 2 language papers( where you just translate some latin) and two literature papers ( where you have to analyse some literature written in latin). Which meant you had to memorise like 10 pages of the english translation of the passage and what latin corresponds with the english. The language papers weren't too hard but the literature papers were a bit harder. I thought the hardest part of Latin ( OCR) was the really high grade boundaries ( usually 90% for an A*)

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying A-Level Latin and I think anyone should definitely take the subject: you actually get to study the Latin of original authors, as well as modern writings. How much work you do depends on how competent you are currently on cases, conjugations etc. We went way over the grammar level needed in year 9 (often touching in things only in A-Level) so for us it was more a refinement of grammar than learning it. The language is straightforward if you know the grammar and vocab (of which we had already learnt most words). The literature is indeed harder, but you study it all in class and learn a translation and how it works, and in the exam comment on it and the such. Since you'll be the doing the new spec, read through it on the OCR website, and have a look at some past papers; do this for all your subjects before you take them (finding out which exam board and qualification it is as well). If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

ReputationRep: