Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi, i'm hoping to start uni in september 2017. i'm currently working in england full time and i know i would be eligible for the maintenance loan if i keep working, but can i still get the loan if i don't work during my course? i read something about still being eligible if i had been working for 12 months prior to starting the course, but there wasn't enough information about this, can you tell me more? thanks
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Official TSR Representative
    Hi there are some exceptions with regards to this rule

You are involuntarily unemployed after completing a period of fixed term contract employment of less than one year or is involuntarily unemployed during the first 12 months and is actively seeking employment.

thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Victoria SFE)
    Hi there are some exceptions with regards to this rule

You are involuntarily unemployed after completing a period of fixed term contract employment of less than one year or is involuntarily unemployed during the first 12 months and is actively seeking employment.

thanks
    so i can't get the loan if i leave my job voluntarily, even if i worked in the UK for a few years, is that correct?

now, about the 5-year UK residency condition - does the date of my first entry to the UK count? if so, that would be october 2012 for me, which i understand makes me not eligible to get a loan for september 2017 entry, as i would miss it by less than a month. can i apply later after this date? or can i only apply for 2018/2019 then?

thank you
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Official TSR Representative
    Hi blckz

If you leave the job you will no longer be classed as migrant worker and we would remove the loan.