Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Dear everyone!

So, I'd like to apply for the US for my masters and need some general help for how to applications.

I'm in my second year of university and would like to apply for some of the Ivies and UCs. As a general gist, do I apply when I'm in my third year, or do I have to complete the whole degree first and take a year out to apply?

(Grades, 9A*s and 3As in GCSE, A*AAAa A Levels, 2.1 first year of university).

I study at Warwick and know of so many people that are at the Ivies doing their masters there right now as well as meeting masters students here who have come from the strong US Universities. However, it's just a bit awkward to ask them.

I can't really find where it says whether or not they give offers when you're in your 3rd year. Would it be like A Levels? That your offer is based on a prediction grade? Or would I have to complete my degree before I even bother to apply? I know it's slightly different for every uni but there must be a trend they all follow?

I'm planning on taking the GRE the month before my last year of university starts (September 2017).

Thanks for reading, hope to get some help!

ReputationRep:
    You need to apply for your Masters a year before your MA programs starts. At the same time, you need to have obtained your Bachelors degree before you can start your masters program. Usually, they'll have you state what courses are in progress and what courses you plan to take in your final semester of your undergraduate program. If you get accepted, then the university will ask you to send in your transcripts after you complete your undergraduate studies. (I can't answer questions about your UK grades as I'm not familiar with the system and how it equates to the US system).