The Student Room Group

PLEASE HELP. Should I quit uni?

Hi :smile:

I'm in my first year at uni and I have to go back for my second term tomorrow, except I hate it there and I just can't imagine going back.

The work is really hard and I can hardly keep up, and I haven't been able to finish my holiday work because I was depressed the whole holiday (I've suffered from low moods my whole life).

I've told my tutor I haven't done it all and she is really annoyed at me. I've been to a counselling session but I just can't get other the fact that I have no excuse as to why I didn't do the work and I'm just using up a space at the uni for someone who could actually be good at it.

I have made no friends at all (probably my fault) and now I've quit all the societies I was in so I have more time to work.

I really want to quit but I worked really hard to get in, and I don't know what I'll do instead.

Any thoughts even negative are appreciated. Thanks
What degree are you doing?

Don't think that "because you haven't made friends" your time in uni will suck. There are thousands of people with all sorts of backgrounds, likely, some in a similar situation to you who you can still meet. University, unlike school offers social freedom, that shouldn't be a concern.

Just chill-erino. Meditate or something. Join a yoga class. Stop overanalysing the sentiments from your tutor & teachers and try to re-evaluate what you are capable of doing and not capable of doing to resolve any missed deadlines.

Its only the first year too, remind yourself that it doesn't count for much but should be a strong guide and platform to build new habits for the harder years.

remember, these difficult times, regardless of their context or circumstance allow us to shape stronger future habits and ambitions more than ever.
Reply 2
Original post by Balabanator
What degree are you doing?