Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Okay, so I'm in my third year of nursing. I've found a speciality I really enjoy which is neonates and have a job lined up ready. But there's a part of me that's worried, I can't cope with the shifts and the nights and long days, I know this is work but I feel ill more than I feel good. I just don't know if I am as happy as I should be. I've read into other options and have found a masters which will train me as a primary school teacher, I can really imagine myself doing this, as I love children and it would allow me to be more creative and less tired! It only takes a year, and is funded. I just don't know what to do, neonatal nursing is the only nursing I like, I'm adult trained I hate all adult wards I just don't enjoy it. Neonates has been a lovely experience but it's still the long hours and night shifts, I don't want my whole life to be taken over by work, and I think that maybe I'd be more happy as a primary teacher, I love to write, and this would also give me time to do this, and I want to travel with my job, I just don't know what to do anymore

If I don't start nursing straight away can I return after a few years if decide i would like to do it after all. I'm only 20, so I'm very early in my life, I might always change my mind!

Thank you for your time

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Poppymay96xox)