Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    im studying at uni now, first year student, and I have been offered an apprenticeship. no one knows about this apart from me, so whats my next step? I applied after a bad day at uni, spur of the moment thing. live away from home at the moment. thanks
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    So now you decide whether you want to take the apprenticeship or stay at uni.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jamesc9)
    im studying at uni now, first year student, and I have been offered an apprenticeship. no one knows about this apart from me, so whats my next step? I applied after a bad day at uni, spur of the moment thing. live away from home at the moment. thanks
    As Tubbz said you need to weigh up the pros and cons of both. Generally they go as follows:

Apprenticeship
    Pros
    -Earn and Learn
    -Gain experience
    -If its a degree apprenticehip you have been offered then you get the degree without the debt.

Cons
    - Wage typically low unless its one of the bigger companies e.g. Jaguar Land Rover, usually not enough to even rent a room on.
    -Apprenticeships can be of mixed quality- the bigger companies seem to offer the better thought out programes, sometimes the smaller ones take on an apprentice either as cheap labour e.g. in retail, or they don't think about what the apprentice will actually do. Generally the better apprenticeships seem to be in engineering and accountancy.
    -Potentially less sociable than uni, you might find your the only young person there
    -A lot less freedom during the day than uni, early starts every morning (may be a pro for you though)

Uni
    Pros
    -Theoretically studying a studying a subject you are passionate about for 3 or 4 years
    -Very social
    -Whole range of societies and sports clubs, this bit is unique to unis