The Student Room Group

9 Year Age Gap - Unlikely to Last?

I'm 22 and he's almost 31. We've been dating for four months and were friends for a couple of years beforehand. We get along great and are very compatible in a number of ways. I'm enjoying seeing him but feel a few age-related things may come between us:

He wants marriage and kids by the time he's 35. I'm not sure if I ever want that - and certainly not in the next few years. I'm not entirely comfortable with the idea of settling down and getting super-serious, but he seems dead set on the idea. Part of me wants to enjoy being young and have fun, but part of me wants to be with him long-term. It feels very conflicting.

He wants to leave the city. I'm studying here so can't leave for at least another couple of years. He says he will stay here to be with me but I don't want to hold him back. He says he's unhappy here and wants his life to change for the better. How can he do that while he's with me here?

Our parents don't entirely approve of the situation, specifically the age gap. I know it doesn't matter so much what my parents think - it's my life to live. But I hate to upset them. His parents aren't too happy about it, either.

Anybody been in a similar situation? Words of advice much appreciated
Original post by Anonymous
I'm 22 and he's almost 31. We've been dating for four months and were friends for a couple of years beforehand. We get along great and are very compatible in a number of ways. I'm enjoying seeing him but feel a few age-related things may come between us:

He wants marriage and kids by the time he's 35. I'm not sure if I ever want that - and certainly not in the next few years. I'm not entirely comfortable with the idea of settling down and getting super-serious, but he seems dead set on the idea. Part of me wants to enjoy being young and have fun, but part of me wants to be with him long-term. It feels very conflicting.