Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying BIT (half computer science and half business) but am struggling to get my placement because any programming jobs which is what I want aren't accepting me because people with just computer science are getting in ahead of me and I am not deemed as qualified as they are. I feel like i've hit a real stumbling block and don't know what to do because my degree just isn't working for me and getting me to the place I want to go. The way I see it is I have 3 options:

1 - Go back to first year and do a normal computer science degree (however I won't be able to get funding for one of those years)

2- Try to do lots of extracurricular events to make myself more attractive to employers and to gain more experience (however I'm worried this won't be enough to put me an a par with normal computer science students)

3- Finish my degree and do some sort of post grad but I'm unsure if this will put me on a par with a computer science student

Can anybody help me?
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by NiallBelfast)
    I'm currently studying BIT (half computer science and half business) but am struggling to get my placement because any programming jobs which is what I want aren't accepting me because people with just computer science are getting in ahead of me and I am not deemed as qualified as they are. I feel like i've hit a real stumbling block and don't know what to do because my degree just isn't working for me and getting me to the place I want to go. The way I see it is I have 3 options:

1 - Go back to first year and do a normal computer science degree (however I won't be able to get funding for one of those years)

2- Try to do lots of extracurricular events to make myself more attractive to employers and to gain more experience (however I'm worried this won't be enough to put me an a par with normal computer science students)