Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What should I do to show I have an interest in a language when I'm not doing one atm? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    i want to do japanese at uni but im currently studying bio, chem, maths and art bc i thought i wanted to be a doctor but ive changed my mind now. im in year 12 atm and i need to start looking at ways to show i still have an interest for languages and japanese as well. would reading books be something i can talk about on my ps? im really not sure what i should be doing
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    Books definitely. Can you start learning the language on the side? You need to show an interest in the language and the culture outside of school work anyway.

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    Try starting on the basics of the language on your own (is there a(n evening) course you can take where you live? - it's not that rare a language), and look at getting some reading material on the culture - maybe see if a local library has anything, or order something online. Avoid fiction for culture to start with unless you really like it, I'd say, for obvious reasons.

Would your college allow you to sit in on some language(s) or English language AS/A-level lessons as well, even if you can't take them 'officially'?

Any/all of these will help you prove interest, and it's great that you've allowed yourself time to do them before year 13!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IrinaI)
    Hi,
    Try starting on the basics of the language on your own (is there a(n evening) course you can take where you live? - it's not that rare a language), and look at getting some reading material on the culture - maybe see if a local library has anything, or order something online. Avoid fiction for culture to start with unless you really like it, I'd say, for obvious reasons.