Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Should we pay to attend a GP? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi ,

I am a student currently undertaking a project as part of my Extended Project (EPQ) and wondered if you could answer my question about paying for the GP.

Many Thanks
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 10MarrRe)
    Hi ,

I am a student currently undertaking a project as part of my Extended Project (EPQ) and wondered if you could answer my question about paying for the GP.

Many Thanks
    No I think we shouldn't instead there should continue to be more education to people as to when self care would be more appropriate

ReputationRep:
    no, we need to just keep educating people on other options and improve other services people could be accessing instead (e.g. mental health)

if you charge for GP appointments you'll be making the most vulnerable in society less likely to access healthcare that they need - which probably also makes them more likely to present at A&E further down the line
    • Very Important Poster

No because some people are very poor and it would deter them. Some people are in poor health so would not be able to go as opten. The GP is one of the early lines of defence in stopping a situation getting worse, which saves money.

For people who persistently fail to attend then some form of warning system should be used.

ReputationRep:
    If you charge for a GP appointment then you've dismantled one of the founding pillars of the NHS, still embodied in the NHS constitution, which is: "Access to NHS services is based on clinical need, not an individual’s ability to pay".

ReputationRep:
    people who miss appointments should be forced to ermm cough up

ReputationRep: