Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Can you study 3 languages at uni? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying French, Spanish and Russian at AS level and was wondering if it was possible/where it is possible to study 3 langauges at university.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by languagesgeek)
    I'm currently studying French, Spanish and Russian at AS level and was wondering if it was possible/where it is possible to study 3 langauges at university.

Thanks
    Just do French and Spanish
    • Very Important Poster

(Original post by languagesgeek)

Thanks
    Yes. Such degree are quite rare, but a number of unis offer them. Google is your friend.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AshEntropy)
    Just do French and Spanish
    I was just wondering if it was possible to do all three, I'm not sure what I'll study yet.

ReputationRep:
    I know people who studied 3. You would have to check with the uni but I think most unis have the policy that you can only start one "new" langage so as long as 2 of the 3 you had studied before then you should be able to. The 3rd language might have to be like free credit modules though rather than part of your degree.

ReputationRep:
    A lot of universities let you take 3 language degrees, to name a few Newcastle, Bristol, Southampton, Sheffield (I think) and others. These are all fully credited as a degree in all three languages and often called BA Modern Languages

ReputationRep:
    As said above, the degree is often called BA Modern Languages. You'd really struggle to find a course you could get onto if you only had 1 language at A-Level, but since you've got 3 I think you should be okay

There are only a handful though. You'd find enough to fill up all 5 spaces on UCAS, but bear in mind your choice will instantly be limited.