The Student Room Group

my mum keeps demanding money from me

Im in my final year at uni and throughout my uni life I have given my mum £2000 of the £6000 i get at student finance.

In 2nd year i worked part time, but it drained me because i was always tired and had no time to study. my grades during that year were not great either - i was getting mid to low 2.1's in my assignments etc.

My mum is a single parent who earns less than 18,000 a year and wants me to give her more money from student finance. In an ideal world she wants me to work part time whilst studying full time and i cannot do that as this is my final year and i want to give it my best shot. Also, I have an extra module this semester so there is no way i'd be able to keep up a job. I keep saying to her that as soon as i finish my exams i will get a job somewhere (anything really as it will only be temporary till i get a proper job using my degree). I had previously told her that i could only give her £2000 and she was ok with it. Now shes started saying that i need to give more because it isnt enough and that im greedy for keeping £4000 to myself etc etc... i honestly dont know what to do! please give me advice and tips. she is always nagging at me saying that when she was my age her life was a lot harder blah blah blah. how can she honestly expect me to actually pay her what she considers enough when im only a student?!!

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by Anonymous
Im in my final year at uni and throughout my uni life I have given my mum £2000 of the £6000 i get at student finance.

In 2nd year i worked part time, but it drained me because i was always tired and had no time to study. my grades during that year were not great either - i was getting mid to low 2.1's in my assignments etc.