Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello there!

I am interested in applying for graduate level courses in UK universities later this year/next year (for beginning in 2018), however I have been studying in the US under an F1 visa for the past four years (finishing it this year). On the fees website of each university it states than you need to be 'ordinarily resident' in the UK for the past three years to attain home status. Each year I have been abroad I have returned home to the UK (I was born and raised here) and obviously maintained my permanent residency and family ties, as well as receiving treatment on the NHS, etc. However, I can't find a clear answer as to whether or not I would receive home or overseas fees in this situation!

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Matt_01)
    Hello there!

I am interested in applying for graduate level courses in UK universities later this year/next year (for beginning in 2018), however I have been studying in the US under an F1 visa for the past four years (finishing it this year). On the fees website of each university it states than you need to be 'ordinarily resident' in the UK for the past three years to attain home status. Each year I have been abroad I have returned home to the UK (I was born and raised here) and obviously maintained my permanent residency and family ties, as well as receiving treatment on the NHS, etc. However, I can't find a clear answer as to whether or not I would receive home or overseas fees in this situation!

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!
    Studying abroad on a temporary visa would not change your residency - you'd be considered home for fees and support purposes.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PQ)