Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    What's a Level psychology like? And does it require a lot of maths? Could you also give examples of what topics you do in it?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jadevchristine)
    What's a Level psychology like? And does it require a lot of maths? Could you also give examples of what topics you do in it?

Thanks
    I'm currently studying A2 Psychology and I do enjoy it very much. It's essentially going through explanations/theories and research and then evaluating them. In the exam, questions will range from simple multiple choice questions to extended writing essay questions. Also, exam boards have put an extra emphasis on application for the new spec; this is applying your psychological knowledge to a given scenario. You will come across the mathematical side when going over research methods. However, they are really simple as they often ask about the mean ect as well as testing your graphical skills. So, i would suggest that a B/C in GCSE maths will make you more then capable in tackling the mathematical side of psychology. I'm doing the new linear AQA spec and have gone over topics such as Attachment, Social influence (Obedience, conformity ect) as well Relationships.

Feel free to ask me anymore questions

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently doing A2 psychology on the AQA exam board. It doesn't involve too much maths (which I'm thankful for as I'm rubbish at maths!), but I'm not sure what it's like for other exam boards? The topics I've done are psychopathology, attachment, social influence, memory, forensic psychology, biopsychology, schizophrenia and relationships! We also have to do research methods (which maths is part of), approaches in psychology and issues and debates! Hope this helped

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jadevchristine)

Thanks
    Hi, I'm currently in Year 12 studying Psychology so I've only been studying it for 4/5 months.