Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I want to go to University this September and I've been offered a place to my favourite uni, Northumbria, but I'm worried I won't be able to afford to live there (Newcastle) while I'm studying.

I'm doing film production, so I'll be needing a good laptop to work from, which I'll have to buy before I get there and I don't know if I can live off my student finance loan, as the government website says I'm entitled to £6,009 and my halls look like they're going to cost over £5,000 and I don't believe I can live off less than £1,000 for food in a whole year.

I understand that most people get a job while they're studying, but I simply cannot do this. The only job I ever had lasted two weeks because it made me so stressed and that was before I had loads of hand-ins all the time. There's no way I can work while doing a degree AND to make things worse, the only way I can get a bursary from my university is if my family's annual income is under £16K a year, which it isn't, however they aren't really capable of giving me anything.

I'm getting worked up over this and it would be great if anyone else out there is having the same trouble as me or has a solution.

ReputationRep:
    Edit: Is there any way I can claim benefits while at university? A friend of a friend is claiming while at university, but that's because she has autism which is recognised as a disability, so she is allowed to claim while studying.

I don't have autism, but I am seeing a doctor to have CBT for serious anxiety. I've checked the definition of disability on the gov. website and it doesn't say anything about anxiety or panic attacks, but it does link to the Mind website and that does mention it, but doesn't say whether it can be considered a disability.

My instinct would be that the government wouldn't allow me to claim because you have to be pretty bad for them to not expect you to work.

Anyone got any experience?