Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

So long story short:
    - The friends I made in halls all fell out with eachother so we spilt up, the group I ended up with are really selfish, they keep me up at night when I'm a nursing student on night shifts etc. My only friend in the house left and since then we haven't had a 'stable tenant' because people come and go so I feel quite lonely and isolated in my house.
    - My group of friends on my course is gradually getting smaller because people are one by one getting removed from the course due to failing assignments/placement.
    - I miss home, even though home is only an hour away but it's because I feel really lonely at uni. I struggle to make friends and now it seems when I DO make friends they're leaving uni etc.

I'm not enjoying my experience at uni at the moment, I'm close to quitting but I don't know what I would do if I wasn't doing this course?

Do any of you feel lonely at uni?

ReputationRep:
    Could you join any societies? It's quite difficult due to your night shifts, but if you could find some interesting societies that you can attend flexibly, then you could try making some friends there

(Original post by CarysJSLewis)
    Could you join any societies? It's quite difficult due to your night shifts, but if you could find some interesting societies that you can attend flexibly, then you could try making some friends there
    I can try and find one it's just finding the confidence to join them late?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Join clubs, societies out of uni and join social clubs out of uni if you have to.

Introduce yourself and talk to people about the course at lectures, tutorials.

To help you in general with meeting people:

1) Relax, imagine you're just observing or there as a traveller lol.

2) Smile, smiling in contagious.