Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

My tutor told me I did good on my essay but I didn't? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Okay so i got my first essay back and I....did **** bascially and it destroyed my confidence to carry on with uni.

I was expecting quite good feedback from my essay as I sent it to my tutor to mark. His response was really good and he told me to improve on things like my conclusion (which should have been my introduction) and that my research was good and overall I did well, I was pleased.
    However looking at my essay I made mistakes in my introduction which my tutor didn't even say and other things that I wouldn't have thought would have been bought up.

Although I did pass, I am extremely depressed about this, like my motivation is so low now and although my final mark was 40 (a pass) I still feel like I "failed"
    I know this is my first year and doesn't count towards my degree, but in all honesty I feel like dropping out honestly because I don't think I am doing as good. I am waiting back for a reponse from my tutor but how should I go about this?

ReputationRep:
    Don't be too hard on yourself - it's one of your first essays in your first term. If you were getting 80s already, then how would you progress, given that university is all about progress.

Just take the feedback on the chin, try to learn from it (and don't be afraid to ask for more feedback or clarification of what he's already given you) and try to incorporate his points for improvement in your next essay. Onwards and upwards!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ilovebigcocker)
    By any chance do you go to manchester met??? Cus in this case your essay was probably outstanding.
    No. I dont go there. Honestly I am so sad right now

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ilovebigcocker)