Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, I was hoping someone could help me out. I'm in my first year of study and am thinking of applying to relevant open days and insight events.

I know that when you go to these things, and they have a networking event at the end of the day, that it's a good idea to have knowledge on the firm and commercial issues that may affect its clients.

On the subject of research, other than looking at their website how would you suggest researching a firm? And what level and kind of knowledge do I need to know?

Also, I feel quite nervous on the networking thing (and in general law fairs) in the sense that I don't know how to approach an employer. Like if I'm going to talk to a graduate recruiter, what kinds of things should I be saying? I can't just question them on the firms' latest acquisitions or cases can I?

Thank you for any help and guidance on this!

ReputationRep:
    I just have a quick moment now, but websites you can use are chambersstudent and allaboutlaw. You can use rollonfriday too, but it's less reliable and some information is updated (and it's hard to tell which is sometimes).

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by likezerogravity)
    I just have a quick moment now, but websites you can use are chambersstudent and allaboutlaw. You can use rollonfriday too, but it's less reliable and some information is updated (and it's hard to tell which is sometimes).

Thank you so much for taking the time to respond, I will definitely check out those websites!

Do you have any advice on the appropriate topics to speak about to graduate recruiters or partners? And on the amount of information the firms expect you to know?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Lostrider)
    Hi guys, I was hoping someone could help me out. I'm in my first year of study and am thinking of applying to relevant open days and insight events.