Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Parents being unsupportive of my decisions:( Watch

This is quite long, but please give me some advice!!!

My parents and I both have very different views in terms of how important education is. They both went straight into work after they finished secondary school, and have been working since.
    After I finished secondary school, I decided to continue my education by studying A-levels. I aspire to do a doctorate one day. I am currently in Year 13 and felt pressured by my family, who kept frequently making snide remarks that I'm not earning my own income, to get a job.
    This job makes me work ridiculously long hours (11 hours per day) even though I'm only 17. They want me to work all weekend, every weekend.
    As a result, I have failed my mock exams because I didn't have enough time to revise properly. Usually, I am a straight-A student.
    I received a text from work today asking me if I can work all the weekends for the next month, and that has been the turning point for me.

Therefore, I emailed my workplace telling them that I have decided to resign so that I can prioritise my studies. They have not replied yet.
    When I told my mum earlier that I'm resigning, she wasn't happy at all and basically said I should be earning my own income and that her and my dad were both "brought up to WORK". My dad's reaction will be even worse because he just yells over the top of me and doesn't listen to me.

They don't seem to understand the extent to which this job is causing me to fall behind at sixth form. They think work is more important than education. I am just a financial burden to them.

Any advice? I feel so upset right now.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    What kind of jobs do your parents have?