The Student Room Group

Choosing A-levels? Humanities VS STEM

Hi everyone, I'm new to TSR so excuse me if I make some flaw in editing or something!!

Anyway, I need to choose A-levels by a deadline (February 1st) and I am honestly so stuck. To give you an idea:

GCSE mocks:
Maths A
English Lit A
Eng Lang A*
Chemistry A*
Physics A
Biology B
Music A*
RS A
History A
Spanish A*

In terms of career: I can see myself going down two routes at the moment, either a Spanish degree (if you think languages are useless the close button is up there^) or medicine or vet. science.

I know my Biology was my weakest grade but that is honestly because I didn't do the revision for it, it is within my capability to get an A* in May.

However, I now have the dilemma of ' do I do Science for the sake of med/ vet school and run the risk of hating the A level but having to take at least one Science A-level or do I do humanities and eliminate the possibility of a Sciency degree??'

So my two choices at the moment are:

Spanish
History (interchangeable with English:/)
Maths (?)
Music

or

Spanish
Chem
Bio
(insert other choice here)

I am honestly so unsure: as you can see I'm pretty across the board in terms of grades so it's really difficult for me to pick! It would be really useful if you guys could help me out just by saying how you're finding your A-levels.

(N.B. I have always been more 'naturally' better at humanities: I like to write. I would see Science A-levels as more of a means to an end, whereas humanities I might enjoy better)
Do STEM. Much more useful and in demand.
Do whatever you enjoy more or are better at. STEM subjects are more vocational and are more likely to lead you to a job in that profession, but humanities subjects open up so many doors. I would say whatever you do, make sure you do that language!