Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I'm applying for graduate training schemes, but have been in employment since I graduated in 2011. A lot of companies are asking for references at the beginning of the application stage. I'm a bit hesitant to put down my current employer as they don't know I'm applying for another job. Also, I wouldn't want my employer to be contacted unless I had first been offered a place. Lastly, the training schemes don't start until September. If I'm offered a place in March, I still wouldn't want my employers to be contacted until much closer to the time.

Am I being overly paranoid? What would the best way to go about this?
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by chopin_fanatic)
    Hi all,

I'm applying for graduate training schemes, but have been in employment since I graduated in 2011. A lot of companies are asking for references at the beginning of the application stage. I'm a bit hesitant to put down my current employer as they don't know I'm applying for another job. Also, I wouldn't want my employer to be contacted unless I had first been offered a place. Lastly, the training schemes don't start until September. If I'm offered a place in March, I still wouldn't want my employers to be contacted until much closer to the time.

Am I being overly paranoid? What would the best way to go about this?
    I'd contact the recruiters prior to submitting your application, ask at what point they ask for reference and explain this situation - they will understand (there will be a significant number of candidates in the same position). However most recruiters will not follow up with references until an offer is made (it is just too much hassle doing it before hand). Some might do it prior to last round interview stage, and that's why contacting them might be helpful to double check their policy.