Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Civil service grades suitable for graduates Watch

ReputationRep:
    Which civil service grades should graduates be looking at if not applying for fast stream? Is it EO?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ybsy75)
    Which civil service grades should graduates be looking at if not applying for fast stream? Is it EO?
    It entirely depends. Really the highest level you could possibly apply to would be some HEO roles (but for a lot of these you need previous experience), but I am a graduate and I am an AO, and there are a lot of graduates at AO level. Just getting in to the Civil Service means that you can apply for a lot more jobs (the majority of jobs are only available for internal applicants). If you want a career in the civil service it doesn't really matter which grade you start as. Some graduates I know started as an AO and within 9 months they successfully applied for a HEO position.

ReputationRep:
    Speaking as a Cs, there is no right answer. I joined as an EO and am now a Grade 7, but I know plenty of graduates who join as AOs. Fundamentally once you're in the system you can apply for promotion as you see fit, so focus on getting in, not getting in at a specific grade.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Sir Humphrey)
    Speaking as a Cs, there is no right answer. I joined as an EO and am now a Grade 7, but I know plenty of graduates who join as AOs. Fundamentally once you're in the system you can apply for promotion as you see fit, so focus on getting in, not getting in at a specific grade.
    Do you know anyone who joined at HEO? And how long did it take you to get from EO to G7?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Marath)