Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Which Uni is better for CS: Kent or Swansea? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am planning to study Computer Science in this year and I got 2 offers.

However I can't decide which University to choose from: Kent or Swansea?

Kent beginning in England and Swansea in Wales, I sort of favour more Kent. But since I studied in Swansea a year already (Foundation), I sort of like the place. Close to the nature, a beach right in front of the University and a big park next to the Student Halls in the Campus. The city size is just right for me - simple and small.

While I don't really know much about Kent. Reading the booklets that both University supplied to me about Computer Science, Kent plans and the way of explaining the teaching methods and etc sounds a lot more clear and in a way better than Swansea's one. Also, it seems Kent's reputation is higher, thus, in theory, it should be easier for me to find jobs if I study in Kent.

Again, the problem is that I don't know anything about Kent, and for any decision I need to stick with it for 3 years.

An extra thing that sort of made be worried, the accommodation and the internet services. Kent offers internet thru University's line, so it should be very fast *but* heavily blocked. They do not allow the use of Instant Messengers like ICQ(!) (Which makes it a lot harder for me to contact my friends or old-schoolmates across the world) and disallow Internet Gaming too (to certain degree I understand, however, I think that is not a lot to ask to have some sort of entertainment inside the room in the internet).