Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, my names Dan I'm currently studying Mathematics at the University of Chester (Thornton campus) and I'm currently having a constant inner battle with myself, first before I ask for people's advice I'd like to give some backstory. I'm from Leeds and at current I know no one from that area who've made the jump to come and study here, and making new friends is and isn't a hard task but I have managed to make a select few of friends who, even though I've only known them a while, have made the transition from a comfort school life to living all alone somewhat easier, so now for where I ask for advice...

My "inner struggle" as I like to phrase it, is that I can't help feel like I don't belong here, no matter how hard I try to convince myself, I love spending time with my friends, but there i also feel like there's gaps between a real connection and me clinging on to some form of hope for being/having a best friend, so my question is? Should i bear with it and continue on my journey and learn to grow up, or should I start asking and thinking about preperations to move to a university closer to home??

Thanks for reading all that, and any advice whether it's positive or negative i'd be most great full!
    Danny

ReputationRep:
    How long is your stay at this university?

If I'm being honest, what you're experiencing is very normal. Especially if you've never been away from home and are coping being away from familiarity for the first time. You'll have to eventually get used to this type of situation and imo, university is the perfect way to do so. Going out of your comfort zone and learning to be independent before being thrust into the "real" adult world will benefit you in the long run. You might get a best friend and you might not. It happens. It's no reason to pack up and leave. Not to get cheesy here, but growth comes from adversity.