The Student Room Group

I'm seriously starting to have uni regrets. Pls help?

Okay so Study media studies and I love my course. However I think my degree is pointless, absolutely pointless.

At first, I didn't even want to go to uni. I just wanted to have work experience/internship/apprenticeship. Which I thought was best for me because of where I want to go into (media industry)...and I was correct but for some reason I still ended up going uni and I am starting to have regrets.

So as part of my degree I obviously need work experience but i have no idea how I am so supposed to get that now as the work load right now is ridiculous and I have to focus on that and the only way is to wait until my gap year, which I am fine with but tbh the earlier the better.

Don't get me wrong- I love my course but It is so draining and pointless. And I don't think I am doing anyway near as good as I think I am. (I know it's only first year and I will improve blah blah blah).

I think the "uni life" caught up with me a bit but it's no where like I thought it would be. I love my freedom but everything else is meh. Uni life is no where how it's like if you are introverted...I feel like I "don't fit in". I have met some nice people on my course but altogether I have only managed to make a few friends...which Is okay I guess but it's so difficult for me to meet new people.

Tbh I am thinking about dropping out next year and doing work experience or some kind of internship. I think uni is pointless unless it's a stem and if it is not a stem then they expect too much work ( get lots of work experience and get a 1st/2:1 ) kind of thing.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
The TSR is strong with you.

1. The STEMM thing is a joke. It only really exists on TSR. Start with the STEMM thing in real life and people will be polite, but secretly thinking you're a numpty.