Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm an EU student and I did a foundation course last year, and I received a letter saying that I am still entitled for student finance in year 2016-2017. (The total duration of the course is 4 years (Foundation year + 3 years BSc)

However, I suspended my studies this year and went back home in September, because I'm having a child soon. I didn't go to uni at all.

I also enrolled for one year of architecture abroad in 2010-2011 (but I withdraw after two months).

So my question is: if I re-apply for 2017-2018 to start my BSc from year 1, will I still be entitled 3 years of funding?

Also, if I start working before September, can I apply for maintenance loans, childcare grants, etc.? And if I'm not working before September, but I have a member of my family (uncle or cousin) who has been living in the UK for more than five years, can I apply for loans and grants (even if I'm initially not entitled to them)?
    • Official TSR Representative

ReputationRep:
    Hi kym2017

If you have 2 years of previous study and now want to do a 3 year course you will be eligible for funding from year 2 on-wards.

If you are are a migrant worker and work throughout your studies and can send evidence of this, you can apply for the maintenance grant and supplementary grants for the duration of your course. A family member in the UK would need to be a parent or spouse.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Thanks for your reply!

But concerning the tuition fees loan, what if my university confirm SFE that I suspended my studies due to pregnancy, and that I can send an evidence of it... Will I be able to get funded for three years? Because I'm neither changing the course nor the university.

ReputationRep:
    Hi kym2017

Yes, if you have compelling personal reasons you were unable to complete the course, you can request to get this year of funding back.