Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm interested in Music Technology as an a-level, and I've looked at the specification for the course, but could someone who does it give me a brief description of what it entails? As a musician, I enjoy composing music on a guitar or piano, recording into logic and then adding other tracks, for example drums or bass. Is Music Technology something that I'd like and profit from? Do you have to be good with computers? Thank you, Jasmine

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jasmineseager)
    I'm interested in Music Technology as an a-level, and I've looked at the specification for the course, but could someone who does it give me a brief description of what it entails? As a musician, I enjoy composing music on a guitar or piano, recording into logic and then adding other tracks, for example drums or bass. Is Music Technology something that I'd like and profit from? Do you have to be good with computers? Thank you, Jasmine
    Hey, I did music tech last year. I'm not sure if there have been any changes to the spec since then, but basically the course has a few different pieces of coursework and theory sections (you said you looked up the spec, but I can give you an idea of what I felt it was like doing it). Going to spoiler this because it's a bit long, but in case you want a breakdown of each bit from the POV of someone who's done it:

Spoiler:
    Show

-Coursework part A is sequencing - basically, you use whatever software your school is using to completely re-create a song from scratch. First year you get a score to help you, second year you don't. This involves listening to and writing in all of the individual tracks in on MIDI, creating the timbres for each instrument to try to match it perfectly to the original, editing, etc. There's a little bit of live recording for just the vocals in first year, but not second - it's pretty much 100% software based.