Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm currently studying Mechanical Engineering at the University of Birmingham. I'm in my first year, second semester.

So far, I am not enjoying the course because of its heavy physics involvement. Throughout my a levels, I pretty much only had motivation to practise maths and further maths and found it very fun and interesting. I was never bothered to practise physics. I don't like remembering things, I like to work things out instead.
    A levels - Maths:A, Further Maths: B, Physics: B.

I am afraid, entering second year engineering, I will not be motivated to do any work as I am not enjoying the course.

I was wondering whether it gets better and less physics involved? To quit now and enter maths? Which I already know is a different to a levels. How do I know if I would enjoy it? I would also say I much prefer to work by myself than in a team.

Any thoughts guys?
    I look forward to hearing your responses.
    • Section Leader
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Resonxnce)
    Hello, I'm currently studying Mechanical Engineering at the University of Birmingham. I'm in my first year, second semester.

So far, I am not enjoying the course because of its heavy physics involvement. Throughout my a levels, I pretty much only had motivation to practise maths and further maths and found it very fun and interesting. I was never bothered to practise physics. I don't like remembering things, I like to work things out instead.

I am afraid, entering second year engineering, I will not be motivated to do any work as I am not enjoying the course.

I was wondering whether it gets better and less physics involved? To quit now and enter maths? Which I already know is a different to a levels. How do I know if I would enjoy it? I would also say I much prefer to work by myself than in a team.

Any thoughts guys?